SXSW: 2014 Jury and Special Award winners announced


The South by Southwest Film Conference and Festival announced the winners of this year’s Jury and Special Award winners in a ceremony held Tuesday night in Austin, Texas, and hosted by comedian Jerrod Carmichael (Neighbors). Among the winners are Richard Linklater’s Boyhood (Louis Black “Lone Star” Award) and True Detective (Excellence in Title Design).

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Narrative Feature
Grand Jury Winner: Fort Tilden, Directed by Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers
Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling: Animals, actor and screenwriter: David Dastmalchian
Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting Duo: 10,000KM (Long Distance), Natalie Tena and David Verdaguer

Documentary Feature Competition
Grand Jury Winner: The Great Invisible, directed by Margaret Brown
Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage: Vessel, directed by Diana Whitten
Special Jury Recognition for Editing and Storytelling: Print the Legend, directed by Luis Lopez and Clay Tweel

Narrative Shorts
Winner: Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire, directed by Monia Chokri
Special Jury Recognition: Person to Person, directed by Dustin Guy Defa
Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography: Krisha, directed by Trey Edward Shults

Documentary Shorts
Winner: Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace, directed by Jeff Dupre

Midnight Shorts
Winner: Wawd Ahp, directed by Steve Girard and Josh Chertoff

Animated Shorts
Winner: Coda, directed by Alan Holly

Music Videos
Winner: “Back to Me” — Jole Compass, directed by Ian and Cooper

Texas Shorts
Winner: Some Vacation, directed by Anne S. Lewis

Texas High School Shorts
Winner: Seawolf, directed by Caila Pickett and Max Montoya

Excellence in Poster Design
Winner: Starry Eyes, designed by Jay Shaw

Excellence in Title Design
Winner: True Detective, designed by Patrick Clair for Elastic
Special Jury Recognition: The Lego Movie, designed by Brian Mah for Alma Matter

SXSW Game Changer Emergent Woman Director Award
Winner: Jen McGowan for Kelly & Cal
Special Mention: Kat Candler for Hellion

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award
Winner: Boyhood, directed by Richard Linklater

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship
Presented to: Colin Nusbaum

Latest Videos in Movies


From Our Partners

TV Recaps

Powered by VIP